24 solons nominate ex-Sen. Ramon Revilla Sr. for National Artist Award for Film

Published September 7, 2020, 8:08 AM

by Charissa Luci-Atienza 

Twenty-four lawmakers, led by House Majority Leader and Leyte 1st District Rep. Martin Romualdez and TINGOG Sinirangan partylist Rep. Yedda Marie Romualdez have filed a resolution nominating the late Sen. Ramon Revilla Sr. for the National Artist Award for Film, citing that the popular action star’s immense contributions to the Philippine culture and arts, particularly to the country’s entertainment industry “should not go unrecognized.”

Ramon Revilla Sr. (center)
(Cavite Vice Governor Jolo Revilla / Facebook / MANILA BULLETIN)

Under House Resolution No. 1176, the Romualdez couple and 22 other House members said Revilla Sr., who died on June 26, should be nominated to the screening committee for the National Artist Awards.

“Ramon Revilla Sr. is a renowned entertainment icon, actor, producer, writer, director, and a public servant.Through the years, he has contributed immensely in the development of Philippine art,” the lawmakers said in the four-page HR 1176.

“His movies depicted not only the Filipino way of life but also our unique culture and strong ideas.” they said.

Joining the Romualdez couple in filing HR 1176 are Quezon 3rd district Rep. Aleta Suarez, Negros Occidental 5th district Rep. Marilou Arroyo, Deputy Speaker and Surigao del Sur 1st district Rep. Prospero “Butch” Pichay Jr., Lanao del Sur 2nd district Rep. Yasser Balindong, Zamboanga del Sur 2nd District Rep. Leonardo “Jun” Babasa, Capiz 2nd District Rep. Fredenil Castro, Southern Leyte lone district Rep. Roger “Oging” Mercado, Lapu-Lapu City lone district Rep. Paz Radaza, Bataan 1st district Rep. Geraldine Roman, Catanduanes lone District Rep. Hector Sanchez, Pangasinan 4th District Rep. Christopher De Venecia, AKO Bicol partylist Reps. Elizalde Co, and Alfredo Garbin Jr., Ako Bisaya partylist Rep. Sonny Lagon, Ako Padayon Pilipino partylist Rep. Adriano Ebcas, CWS partylist Rep. Romeo Momo Sr., RECOBODA partylist Rep. Godofredo Guya, TGP partylist Rep. Jose Teves, Ang Probinsyano partylist Rep. Alfred Delos Santos, and APEC partylist Rep. Sergio Dagooc.

The lawmakers, who are mostly members of the Lakas-Christian Muslim Democrats (CMD) party, noted that Revilla Sr. received several notable awards which included FAMAS Best Actor award in 1973, Outstanding Producer Award in 1976, Most Outstanding Actor in 1979, and Box Office King.

Revilla Sr.’s son, Senator Ramon “Bong” Revilla is the Lakas-CMD chairman.

Romualdez’s group also said Revilla Sr. also received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Catholic Mass Media in 2011 and on July 1 this year, he was conferred the Sino-Phil Asia International Peace Award for Performing Arts.

“Senator Ramon Revilla Sr.’s contribution to Philippine society in general and to the Philippine entertainment in particular should not go unrecognized as he is a genuine gem who has contributed much to the proliferation and appreciation of the arts in our country,” the lawmakers said.

Among the famous films of Revilla Sr. were “Nardong Putik: Kilabot ng Cavite, ” “Pepeng Agimat: Sa Daigdig ng Kababalaghan,” and “Hulihin si Tiagong Akyat.”

“Senator Ramon Revilla, Sr. is an embodiment of talent, intelligence, artistry that makes him befitting of the title of National Artist,” the lawmakers said.

Issued in 1972, Proclamation No. 1001 created the National Artist Award which is jointly administered by the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CPP) and the National Commission on Culture and the Arts (NCCA) and conferred by the President of the Philippines.

The Order of the National Artists is the highest honor conferred to Filipino artists who have made distinct contributions to the fields of literature, music, dance, theater, visual arts, film, broadcast arts, fashion design, and architecture and the arts.

Under the resolution, lawmakers noted that the nominations for National Artist are based on the following criteria, as set forth by the CCP and the NCCA:

-Living artists who are Filipino citizens at the time of the nomination, as well as those who died after the establishment of the award in 1972, but were Filipino citizens at the time of their death;

  • Artists, who, through the content and form of their works, have contributed in building a Filipino sense of nationhood;
  • Artists who pioneered in a mode of creative expression or style, thus earning distinction and making an impact on succeeding generations of artists;
  • Artists who have created a substantial and significant body of workers and/or consistently displayed excellence in the practice of their art form thus enriching artistic expression or style; and
  • Artists who enjoy broad acceptance through prestigious national and/or international recognition, critical acclaim and/or reviews of their works, and respect and esteem from peers.