Ayala ‘receives nothing’ for work as Nat’l Museum trustee

Published July 31, 2020, 2:47 PM

by Ben Rosario

Believe it or not, business tycoon Fernando Zobel de Ayala worked for the government but unlike other State officials and executives who earned millions of pesos in salaries and allowances, the Ayala Corp. president and CEO received nothing.

Fernando Zobel de Ayala (Asia Philanthropy Circle / MANILA BULLETIN)

Ayala is among the many successful business personalities whose names can be found in the 2019 Report on Salaries and Allowances (ROSA) released recently by the Commission on Audit (COA).

COA said Ayala, chairman of the Habitat for Humanity, is among the private sector personalities who did not receive a single centavo as trustee of the National Museum.

Well-known Filipinos like former Vice President Jejomar Binay, industrialist Jose Concepcion Jr., publisher Dante Ang,  real estate developer Isidro Consunji; construction magnate Reghis Romero; corporate executives Katrina Ponce Enrile  and Zenaida Rustia Tantoco, and former Ma. Margarita Moran-Floirendo were also included in the ROSA.

But unlike United Coconut Planters Bank president and CEO Higinio Macadaeg and Solicitor General Jose Calida, Ayala and company took home measly honoraria or nothing for sitting as trustees or directors of boards of various government corporations.

Macadaeg, who earned P20.4 million in 2019; and Calida, P16.9 million, were the top earners among 8,930 officials and executives of various government agencies, bureaus, corporations, State universities, and water districts in the list.

Ayala was among the 310 individuals from the private sector who served various positions in government instrumentalities and bodies with “zero” income from the state in 2019.

Joining Ayala in the NM board of trustees who received neither salary or allowances for their work were Sorsogon Gov. Francis Escudero; Secretaries Leonor Briones and Roy Cimatu, Sen. Sherwin Gatchalian, Lourdes La Vina, Rene Javellana, Maria Ongpin, Philip Yu Roriguez, and Felicidad Sta. Maria.

Among those  who served “pro bono” were Binay as trustee of the Boy Scouts of the Philippines; Concepcion as director of Philipine Rice Resarch Institute;  Consunji as member of the board of the Trade and Investment Development Corp.; Enrile as director of Cagayan Economic Zone Authority;  and Ang as member of the board of the National Book Development Board.

Others received token honoraria for atending meetings.

Floirendo, president of Ballet Philippines, and Tantoco  received P30,000 and P14,000, respectively in 2019 as members of the board of the Cultural Center of the Philippines.

Romero of RII Builders was given P9,000 as member of the Board of Regents of the Polytechnic University of the Philippines.