Taiwan extends visa-free entry for Filipinos until 2021

Published July 24, 2020, 11:52 AM

by Noreen Jazul

Taiwan has extended its visa-free entry for Filipinos until July 31, 2021.

Chiang Kai-shek Memorial Hall in Taipei, Taiwan.
(Sam Yeh/Agence France-Presse /MANILA BULLETIN)

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Taiwan said nationals from the Philippines, Thailand, Brunei, and Russia can still visit the country without a visa requirement from August 1, 2020, to July 31, 2021.

The visa-free entry policy was supposed to end on July 31, 2020.

The extension was made “to further promote” the New Southbound Policy which aims to strengthen Taiwan’s cooperation and ties with other countries in Southeast Asia, South Asia, Australia, and New Zealand.

The MOFA, however, clarified that the new entry regulations for Filipinos and other foreign nationals do not “take precedence over temporary border control measures put in place in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.”

“Whether restrictions on foreign nationals (other than the exempted groups listed above) coming to Taiwan for tourism purposes will be relaxed depends on the CECC’s (Central Epidemic Command Center) assessment of the worldwide development of the COVID-19 pandemic,” it added.

Meanwhile, MOFA reported that since the visa-free entry policy was implemented in 2019, the number of Filipinos visiting Taiwan has increased by 100.37 percent.