Pasay City declares 14 barangays ‘critical areas’ after COVID cases surge

The Pasay City government has restricted the movement of residents in 14 barangays it declared as “critical areas” starting July 8 to July 22 due to the surge of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) disease. 

The barangays dubbed as “critical areas” are Barangays 14, 34, 37, 42, 46, 106, 144, 169, 171, 183, 184, 190, 193 and 201. The range of infection in the said barangays is from 10 to 39 for a total of 275 COVID-19 cases.

Latest health data showed that Pasay City has 1,129 confirmed COVID-19 cases with 44 deaths.

Mayor Emi Calixto-Rubiano said police checkpoints had been set in place to ensure that residents follow the restrictions and that the 10 5 a.m. curfew in the city is strictly implemented.

In the 14 critical areas, Rubiano said only one per household will be allowed to go out to purchase basic needs.

The police were also tasked to check the quarantine pass of individuals allowed outside their homes and follow the color coding of their quarantine pass. 

The mayor said the city government has prepared food packs for residents in the 14 critical areas.

At the end of the strict quarantine on July 22, the City Health Office will submit an assessment and recommendation on whether to lift or maintain the restrictions in the 14 barangays. 

“COVID-19 is still here and it continues to infect a number of individuals.  Let us not put our guard down,” said Rubiano.

“Let us continue to wear face masks, avoid crowded places, avoid close-contact settings such as close-range conversation, avoid confined and closed spaces with poor ventilation and frequently washed your hands,” Rubiano reminded residents. 

Mass gatherings such as birthday parties are still not allowed.