Over 6,000 traditional PUJs to ply Metro starting today

Published July 3, 2020, 12:13 AM

by Alexandria Dennise San Juan

More than 6,000 units of “roadworthy” traditional public utility jeepneys (PUJs) plying in Metro Manila will be allowed to operate in 49 routes beginning today, the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB) announced on Wednesday. 


In LTFRB’s Memorandum Circular 2020-026 released on Wednesday, the Board issued guidelines for the resumption of operations of PUJs in the metropolis during the General Community Quarantine (GCQ).

Under the memorandum signed by LTFRB Chairman Martin Delgra III, a total of 6,002 jeepneys have been authorized by the Board to ply the following identified routes: 

1. Camarin – Novaliches 

2. Karuhatan – Ugong 

3. Malabon – Monumento via Letre 

4. Malabon (TP) – Navotas (TP) 

5. Monumento – Navotas via Letre 

6. Cubao – Proj. 4 via J.P. Rizal 

7. Cubao – San Juan via N. Domingo 

8. IBP Road – Lupang Pangako via Gravel Pit Road 

9. Marikina – Pasig 10. Pantranco – Proj. 2 & 3 via Kamuning 

11. Proj. 2 & 3 – Q Mart 

12. Sucat-Highway – Bagumbayan 

13. Ayala – Pateros via JP Rizal 

14. Marikina – Pateros via Pasig 

15. A. Boni – A. Mabini via 10th Ave 

16. A. Bonifacio – D Tuazon/E. Rodriguez Ave. 

17. A. Rivera – Raon via Severino Reyes 

18. Ayala – Mantrade via Pasong Tamo 

19. Ayala – Washington 

20. Balic-Balic – Quiapo via Lepanto 

21. Balic-Balic – Bustillos via G. Tuazon 

22. Balic-Balic – España/M. Dela Fuente 

23. Balintawak – Frisco 

24. Balut – Blumentritt 

25. Blumentritt – North Harbor via Divisoria 

26. Boni – Kalentong JRC via Boni Avenue 

27. Dian – Libertad 

28. Divisoria – Gastambide via Morayta 

29. Divisoria – Pier North via Plaza Moriones 

30. Divisoria – Quiapo via Evangelista 

31. Evangelista – Libertad 

32. Divisoria – Velasquez 

33. Guadalupe Market – L. Guinto via Pasig Line 

34. L. Guinto – Sta. Ana 

35. Herbosa/Pritil – P. Guevarra via Tayuman 

36. Kalentong/JRC – P. Victorino via P. Cruz 

37. Divisoria – Sta. Cruz via San Nicolas 

38. Kayamanan C – PRC via Pasong Tamo 

39. L. Guinto – Zobel Roxas via Paco 

40. Lardizabal – Rizal Ave. via M. Dela Fuente 

41. Lealtad – Quiapo (Barbosa) via Lepanto 

42. Kalentong/JRC – Libertad (Mandaluyong) Nueve de Pebrero 

43. Kalentong/JRC – Namayan via Vergara 

44. North Harbor – Quiapo via Evangelista 

45. P. Faura – San Andres 46. Quezon Ave. – Sta. Mesa Market via Araneta Avenue

 47. Crame – San Juan via Pinaglabanan 

48. Alabang – Sucat via M.L. Quezon 

49. Soldiers Hill (Phase IV) – Talon via Alvarez 

In a virtual briefing on Thursday, Delgra said the Board has approved the already existing routes plying Metro Manila that do not overlap with the other routes earlier opened for other modes of public transportation such as buses and modernized PUJs. 

QR Code Under the memorandum, traditional PUJs can ply the routes with no special permit. However, a corresponding QR Code shall be issued to the operator prior to operation, which must be printed and displayed in the corresponding unit. 

The operator may secure the QR Code by downloading it from the LTFRB website at www.ltfrb.gov.ph, the agency added. Delgra said units may operate without the QR Code until Sunday to give way to the migration of the LTFRB website to another server which is expected to be completed within the day. Names of operators that will be allowed to ply the road will be released by the LTFRB on its Facebook page on Thursday. 

‘Roadworthy’ units 

The LTFRB said operators included in the list may return on the road provided that they are currently registered roadworthy with the Land Transportation Office (LTO) and with valid Personal Passenger Insurance Policy. 

In addition, the LTFRB emphasized that the existing fare of ₱9 for the first four kilometers and ₱1.50 for succeeding kilometers should be followed and no fare adjustment shall be applied unless approved by the Board. 

Contactless payment 

In line with the “new normal” transition, the LTFRB urged operators and drivers to implement contactless payment such as asking passengers to pay the exact fare first before boarding the vehicle. 

Operators and drivers may also devise any fare collection system such as the use of drop box that will prevent or minimize the spread of the virus. 

Safety protocols 

Operators and drivers are likewise required to comply with a series of safety measures prior to dispatch and during operations, such as checking of body temperature, wearing masks and gloves at all times, and operating at a maximum of 50 percent capacity, and distributing Passenger Contact Forms for contact tracing purposes. 

Failure to comply with the conditions set by the Board will incur penalties from the imposition of fines to the cancellation or suspension of the Certificate of Public Convenience (CPC) or Provisional Authority (PA), the agency warned.