Taguig eases lockdown in 2 Lower Bicutan communities

Published July 1, 2020, 2:43 PM

by Jonathan Hicap

The Taguig City government has lifted the lockdown in two areas in Bgy. Lower Bicutan but will put selected communities under Modified Localized Quarantine (MLQ) for 14 days. 

Taguig Mayor Lino Cayetano visits a quarantine facility in the city. (Taguig City gov’t) 

In an advisory, the Taguig Safe City Task Force said Purok 5 and 6 will no longer be under enhanced community quarantine upon the expiration of the order on July 1. The two areas were placed under lockdown from June 17 to July 1 due to the rising number of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) cases. 

Instead, selected areas in the two communities where COVID-19 testing is still ongoing will be under MLQ for 14 days from July 2 to 15. 

These areas are Dalampasigan in Purok 5, Barangay Street in Purok 6-A, I. Reyes Street in Purok 6-B, K-9 Area in Purok 6-D, and Mauling Creek Area in Purok 6.

According to the task force, an analysis of the results of 1,200 reverse transcription-polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR) tests and contact tracing revealed “a significant improvement on the containment of the COVID-19 virus to more limited and specific areas within the barangay.”

Taguig’s City Epidemiology and Disease Surveillance Unit (CEDSU) and the Quarantine and Containment Management Team (QCMT) recommended the “lessening of quarantine restrictions outside the identified areas where confirmed cases have been localized” and testing of all residents in the identified areas. 

On June 30, the Taguig City government recorded 36 new COVID-19 cases in Bgys. Bagumbayan, Calzada, Central Bicutan, Katuparan, Lower Bicutan, Pinagsama, South Daang Hari, Sta Ana, Tuktukan, and Wawa . 

Taguig now has 887 confirmed COVID-19 cases, including 145 patients who have recovered, or 16.34 percent of the total, and 22 deaths. Bgy. Lower Bicutan has the highest number of positive cases with 109, followed by Fort Bonifacio with 101 and Western Bicutan with 60.