Taguig to place two Lower Bicutan areas under ECQ

Published June 16, 2020, 12:00 AM

by manilabulletin_admin

By Jonathan Hicap

The Taguig City government will place two areas in Barangay Lower Bicutan under enhanced community quarantine for 15 days due to the clustering of confirmed coronavirus disease (COVID-19) cases. 

Purok 5 and 6 of Lower Bicutan will be under ECQ from 6 p.m. on June 17 to 6 p.m. on July 1 based on the recommendation made by the City Epidemiology and Disease Surveillance Unit (CEDSU). 

Under the localized lockdown, the movement of residents in the two areas will be restricted. They are only allowed to purchase essential goods but they need to show their quarantine pass. 

Employees of establishments providing essential goods and services who reside in Purok 5 and 6 will be allowed to go to work.

The city government advised residents to use the next 24 hours to inform their employers and other family members of the impending lockdown. 

On June 15, the Taguig City government announced that there are 29 new COVID-19 cases in the city, bringing the total to 573, including 53 in Lower Bicutan, the barangay with the second-highest number of cases.