LRT, MRT announce operating schedules starting June 1

By MB Online

The Light Rail Transit (LRT) and Metro Rail Transit (MRT) announced the operating schedules starting June 1, under the general community quarantine (GCQ) in Metro Manila.

In a Twitter post on Saturday, LRT Line 1 said the earliest trip to Roosevelt and Baclaran will be at 4:30 a.m., while the last trip will be at 10 p.m. and 10:15 p.m. on weekdays, and 9:30 p.m. and 9:45 p.m. on weekends and holidays, respectively.

Meanwhile, LRT Line 2 said passengers can ride Recto-bound trains from 5 a.m. until 9 p.m., while Araneta Center-Cubao station will operate from 5 a.m. to 8:30 p.m.

In a separate post on Sunday, MRT3 said North Avenue and Taft Avenue stations will start operations at 5:30 a.m. and end at 9:10 p.m. and 10:11 p.m., respectively. President Rodrigo Duterte has announced on May 28 that Metro Manila, along with other areas, will shift to GCQ starting June 1, even as the country continues to grapple with the coronavirus disease (COVID-19).

The Department of Transportation (DOTr) said that public transportation in areas under GCQ, sanitary measures will be strictly enforced, such as wearing of face masks at all times, no-contact cashless payments, use of thermal scanners, availability of alcohol and sanitizers in public utility vehicles (PUVs), disinfection of high-touch surfaces of vehicles, establishment of disinfection facilities in various public transport terminals, and contact tracing.