DSWD: NCR LGUs have distributed 38.7 percent of SAP funds to target low-income beneficiaries

Published May 5, 2020, 12:00 AM

by manilabulletin_admin

By Charissa Luci-Atienza

Over 603,000 low-income families in the National Capital Region (NCR) have received their Social Amelioration Program (SAP) emergency subsidies, the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) said on Tuesday (May 5).

DSWD-NCR Regional Director Vicente Gregorio Tomas said 603,222 families in Metro Manila have benefited from SAP, as of 6 p.m. on May 4.

He said P4,825,776,000 has been distributed to the beneficiaries. The amount is 38.7 percent of P12.46 billion downloaded to the 17 Metro Manila local government units (LGUs), 16 of which are cities.

He noted that of the 17 LGUs, six were able to serve more than half of their target beneficiaries.

These include Caloocan City (77.45 percent), Pasig City (76.06 percent), Valenzuela City (66.70 percent), Marikina City (55.51 percent), Mandaluyong City (55.01 percent), and Manila City (51.09 percent).

However, three LGUs — Pasay City, San Juan City, and Muntinlupa City registered low SAP payouts, Tomas said.

Of the 17 LGUs, Caloocan City recorded the highest SAP payout of P1.33 billion for 167,148 beneficiaries, based on the latest DSWD data. San Juan City registered the lowest payout, distributing P14 million to 1,762 beneficiaries.

The number of target SAP beneficiaries in the NCR is 1,784,923.

In the NCR, low-income households are entitled to receive P8,000 emergency subsidy each.

The DSWD has transferred P12.46 billion SAP funds to 17 LGUs to benefit 1,558,615 target low-income, non-4Ps families in the NCR, the amount broken down as follows:

Manila, P1.485 billion; Quezon City, P3.02 billion; Caloocan P1.726 billion; Las Piñas, P541.9 million; Malabon, P335.048 million; Makati, P558.3 million; Mandaluyong, P368.37 million; Marikina, P449.88 million; Muntinlupa, P430.68 million; Navotas, P223.82 million; Parañaque, P621.39 million; Pasay, P370.28 million; Pasig, P750.93 million; Pateros, P53.65 million; San Juan, P130.47 million; Taguig, P739.77 million; and Valenzuela, P661.66 million.