Gov’t revises ECQ list; GCQ guidelines bared

Published April 28, 2020, 12:00 AM

by manilabulletin_admin

By Genalyn Kabiling

The government has revised the list of places under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) from May 1 to May 15 after some verification.Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque (PCOO / MANILA BULLETIN)

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque (PCOO / MANILA BULLETIN FILE PHOTO)

Presidential spokesman Harry Roque said Capiz, Aklan, Davao del Norte and Davao de Oro are among the areas removed from the list of ECQ areas based on the latest resolution issued by the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF).

Under the revised government list, the areas under ECQ until mid-May are National Capital Region, Region III (Central Luzon) except Aurora province, Region IV-A (CALABARZON), Pangasinan, Benguet, Baguio City, Iloilo, Cebu, Cebu City, and Davao City.

“Kung naaalala niyo, may mga probinsya na hindi na ngayon nasa ECQ, nung unang anunsyo ay sabi natin subject to verification. May mga probinsyang natanggal po dyan, yung Capiz, Aklan, naalala ko isa yan sa mga probinsyang natanggal. Ang Davao del Norte at Davao de Oro ay natanggal na rin doon sa area ng ECQ (IF you remember there are provinces no longer included in ECQ. In our first announcement, we said these will be subject to verification. The areas removed from the ECQ list are Capiz, Aklan, Davao del Norte, Davao de Oro),” he said during a virtual press briefing Tuesday.

“Ang mga ibang lugar na hindi ko nakasama sa aking mga binasa sila mapapasailalim sa general community quarantine (The other places I did not mention will be placed under general community quarantine),” he added.

Roque said the task force ruled that all other low-risk and moderate-risk areas in Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao will be under general community quarantine (GCQ) “provided that as a condition, minimum health standards are achieved and continuously observed.” He said the GCQ in low-risk areas may be lifted after May 15 “should no deterioration in their risk level occur.”

Under the ECQ, Roque said there will be stringent quarantine measures in covered areas until May 15. Public transportation remain suspended while only essential businesses and services are allowed to operate.

The ECQ quarantine period will be subject to further evaluation before transitioning to GCQ. Roque said ECQ areas may be placed under GCQ after May 15 if the cases of infections will not be high as well as the healthcare capacity will be sufficient to treat patients.

Last Friday, the government extended until May 15 the ECQ in Metro Manila and several high-risk areas including Albay, Catanduanes, Antique, Oriental Mindoro and Occidental Mindoro to stem the spread of the coronavirus.

Under GCQ, there will be relaxed quarantine measures starting May 1. Public transportation will be allowed but in reduced capacity. There will be 50 percent to 100 percent reopening of select establishments subject to minimum health standards. If there is no further deterioration, GCQ will be relaxed.

Roque said starting May 16, all decisions to impose, lift or extend community quarantine in provinces, highly-urbanized cities, and independent component cities shall rest with the IATF.

Provincial governors may be authorized to impose ECQ in component cities, municipalities, and barangays upon concurrence of their respective regional inter-agency task groups. Chief executives of HUCs and ICCs are also authorized to impose enhanced community quarantine in barangays upon the concurrence of their respective regional inter-agency task groups.

No local government unit shall declare their own community quarantine regardless of nomenclature without observing the procedures laid down by the IATF.