Davao de Oro foregoes implementing MCQ, will remain under ECQ

Published April 25, 2020, 12:00 AM

by manilabulletin_admin

By Warren Elijah Valdez

DAVAO CITY – With President Rodrigo Duterte’s directive to extend the enhanced community quarantine in areas identified as high-risk on the coronavirus disease (COVID-19), the province of Davao de Oro will no longer pursue the implementation of the modified community quarantine (MCQ).

Davao de Oro Governor Jayvee Tyrone L. Uy (FACEBOOK / MANILA BULLETIN)
Davao de Oro Governor Jayvee Tyrone L. Uy

“Our province is one of areas in Davao region to have been placed under (extended) ECQ, including Davao de Norte and Davao City. We are still on a rechecking status. We will wait for the guidelines from the national government. Because of the President Duterte’s declaration, our plan for MCQ will not be implemented. We will follow the directive and mandate of our president,” said Davao de Oro governor Tyron Uy on Friday.

“I know many of us have been expecting to be able to go back to their jobs or whatever it is that was left before. But the government is also considering our safety and welfare,” he stressed.

Uy said that in the coming days, the provincial government will be having a meeting together with the local government mayors and some national government agencies to ensure the continued implementation of the ECQ.

“We will use this time on ECQ to strengthen our local contact tracing, to prepare for the “new normal”, to plan for other comprehensive measures, and to continue our call for a mass testing here in our province and the entire Davao region,” the provincial governor said.

Uy also urged the public that even with the implementation of ECQ or MCQ, the health measures implemented amid the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) crisis, such as social distancing, wearing of face masks, and frequent hand washing, must always be observed.

“I am asking for your cooperation. I am asking for your patience, and that we must follow the mandate of our government,” he added.

It can be recalled that on Wednesday, Davao City and Davao de Oro announced plans to shift to MCQ once the implementation of ECQ ends in April 26.

Meanwhile, the Davao Oriental, Davao Occidental, and Davao del Sur will now be placed under the general community quarantine. The three provinces are categorized under low-to-moderate risk areas.