By Gabriela Baron
The disappearing messages feature that has been previously only been available in “secret chats” on Viber, is now available in all one-on-one chats.
The Japanese-operated app’s new feature lets the users set a timer when sending texts, photos, video, or files for a few seconds, minutes, hours, or even days.
The countdown timer starts from the moment the recipient sees the messages. Once the timer is up, the content is permanently deleted.
The new feature is ideal for sending confidential information that users might not want hanging around online. Viber uses the example of sharing credit card details with a partner making an online purchase.
To use the feature, users just need to tap the clock icon at the bottom of the chat and decide how much time should elapse before a message disappears.
In addition to messages being automatically deleted after a pre-defined time, a notification will be sent out if a recipient takes a screenshot of a disappearing message.
The instant messaging app said that the availability of the feature to all its users strengthens its position as “the world’s most secure messaging app.”
Viber also rolled out a “delete message” feature in 2015 and a secret chat option in 2017.