DOTr adopts two routes from OVP’s shuttle service for COVID-19 frontliners

Published April 16, 2020, 12:00 AM

by manilabulletin_admin

By Raymund Antonio 

The Department of Transportation has continued Route 3 and 4 of the Office of the Vice President’s free shuttle service for health workers and frontliners, after it ended on April 14, Tuesday.

This was announced by OVP Undersecretary Philip Dy, who thanked the agency for its “openness and cooperation.”

“We particularly note with appreciation that the agency had opened two routes similar to ours,” Dy, who is Robredo’s chief of staff, said in a statement.

These two bus routes are from SM Mall of Asia in Pasay to Amang Rodriguez Hospital in Marikina and EDSA Macapagal Avenue to Manila Central University Hospital in Caloocan City.

Robredo’s office wrote recommendations to the DOTr regarding the bus stops at every pick-up/drop-off point, and routes of its shuttle service that pass various public and private hospitals in Metro Manila.

These also include daily reminders of the bus schedules and implementation of strict precautionary measures such as the personal protective equipment (PPE) provision for bus drivers and conductors, and regular disinfection.

“We continue to coordinate with DOTr officials regarding these very matters, as we have seen how these protocols made the experience better for our frontliners,” Dy said.

According to the OVP, the Quezon city government also offered free bus rides for frontliners starting on Thursday based on the Route 8 of its shuttle service.

Route 8 is from Commonwealth Hospital and Medical Center in SM Fairview to Rosario Maclang Bautista General Hospital, near Sandigayan, and vice versa.

“This service is open for our frontliners: hospital workers, health professionals, grocery and pharmacy employees,” Robredo’s office said in a Facebook post.

This free shuttle service was among the initiatives of the OVP in response to the coronavirus crisis.

The OVP partnered with UBE Express, Diamond Motor Corporation, Pilipinas Autogroup, Inc., and Seaoil for the project.