All entry points to Davao region to be closed Thursday

Published March 17, 2020, 12:00 AM

by manilabulletin_admin

By Warren Elijah E. Valdez

DAVAO CITY – Starting Thursday midnight, March 19, all points of entry to Davao region will be closed as a move by the newly established regional coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) Task Force to contain the spread of dreaded disease.

This came after Regional Peace and Order Council (RPOC) and Regional Development Council (RDC) created the Davao Region Covid-19 Task Force to implement a unified region-wide effort across LGUs to contain the COVID-19 scourge.

In a statement released by the City Government of Davao on its Facebook page, it was revealed that suspension of land, sea, and domestic air travel for 14 days into the region will be implemented by the Davao Region Covid-19 Task Force.

The suspension may be reduced to seven days upon the review to be conducted by the task force’s Infectious Disease Specialist Consultant.

The statement also said everyone can leave Davao region anytime, but they cannot come back starting Thursday midnight, and for the next 14 days.

Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte was designated as the chairperson of the task force by a unanimous decision of the members of the both council.

READ MORE: DOH confirms 45 new COVID-19 cases; total now at 187