Pasig, San Juan, Mandaluyong start enforcing 9-hour curfew

Published March 16, 2020, 12:00 AM

by manilabulletin_admin

By Jhon Aldrin Casinas

The Cities of Pasig, San Juan, and Mandaluyong have started enforcing a nine-hour curfew in their respective localities amid the threat of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19).

The three local government units have passed their own measures for the implementation of the curfew—which begins at 8 p.m. until 5 a.m. the next day—during the 30-day community quarantine imposed in Metro Manila.

The imposition of curfew was in line with the resolution approved by the Metro Manila Council during an emergency meeting over the weekend urging local government units in the metropolis to implement a curfew in their jurisdiction.

Those exempted from the curfew are workers and employees going to and coming from work, individuals purchasing foods and other necessities, and for medical reasons and other emergencies.

On-duty health workers, police and military personnel, any government employees while in the performance of their duties and responsibilities are also exempted as well as those who provide public transport services, delivery services of basic necessities, and any person involved in an emergency situation.

Based on the ordinances passed by the City Councils of Mandaluyong and San Juan, the measure for the implementation of the curfew “shall take effect immediately.”

However, the Department of Interior and Local Government noted that LGUs cannot immediately impose the curfew because the ordinance must be published in a newspaper of national circulation first before it can be enforced.

The Interior department said the ordinance may only be implemented 15 days after its publication.