La Union to implement 4-day workweek starting March 16

By Liezle Basa-Iñigo 

SAN FERNANDO, La Union – The provincial government of La Union announced on March 14 that it will be implementing a four-day workweek starting Monday, March 16, for its personnel amid the threat posed by the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19).

According to Provincial Information Officer Adamor Dagang, it will be among the provincial government’s pro-active measures to prevent the spread of the coronavirus.

But Dagang said essential government services at the provincial offices related to health, disaster relief and response, among others, will not be covered by the order.

Gov. Francisco Emmanuel “Pacoy” R. Ortega III issued the Memorandum No. 5 Series 2020 which required provincial employees to render no less than 10 hours of work daily from Monday to Thursday, exclusive of breaks for meals.

Employees may report for work anytime from 7 a.m. to 8am, and end work anytime between 6 p.m. and 7 p.m. upon completion of the 10-hour workday.

This four-day workweek comes after the intensified national alert against the COVID-19, which has been raised to Code Red Sublevel 2 on March 12 evening.

The adjusted work schedule will give way to the Provincial General Services Office and Provincial Health Office to administer disinfection in different provincial offices every Friday.

Among the orovincial offices expected to render their regular service schedules are the district hospitals in Balaoan, Bacnotan, Naguilian, Caba and Rosario; La Union Medical Center; Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction Management Office; the Provincial Jail; and the Security Services Unit.

The four-day workweek shall be implemented until further notice.