MMDA, MMC, concerned agencies to release standard parameters on social distancing

By Jel Santos

Standard parameters on social distancing measures will be created by a technical working group (TWG) formed by the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA), the Metro Manila Council (MMC), and other concerned agencies to prevent the spread of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19).

Danilo Lim, Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) chairman and MMDRRMC head (MMDA / MANILA BULLETIN) Danilo Lim, Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) chairman and MMDRRMC head

MMDA Chairperson Danilo Lim said the uniform policies, in the form of a resolution, will be used as the basis for 17 Metro Manila local government units (LGUs) to act as one region in ensuring the health and safety of the public from COVID-19.

“The policies would set standard parameters, like for example, in suspending mass gatherings in the entire region,” he said on Tuesday in the MMC meeting at the MMDA headquarters.

He said the TWG comprises members of the MMC, including representatives of concerned national government agencies.

“The resolution will come out within the week or before the next inter-agency task force meeting,” the MMDA chairman said.

Meantime, Interior Secretary Eduardo Año asked for the help of the Metro Manila mayors in ensuring that students are away from shopping malls and other crowded places to protect them from COVID-19.

President Duterte recently suspended classes in Metro Manila because of the threat posed by the disease.

With the increasing number of COVID-19 confirmed cases in the country, MMDA General Manager Jose Arturo Garcia urged the public to practice social distancing protocols.

“Let us avoid crowded areas as a preventive measure. At this point, the government is not considering a lockdown of Metro Manila, but we are ready for all the possibilities,” he said.

The local executives present in the meeting were Parañaque Mayor Edwin Olivarez, Navotas City Mayor Toby Tiangco, Makati City Mayor Abigail Binay, Pasig City Mayor Vico Sotto, Valenzuela City Mayor Rex Gatchalian, Pasay City Mayor Emily Calixto-Rubiano, Muntinlupa City Mayor Jaime Fresnedi, Taguig City Mayor Lino Cayetano, Marikina City Mayor Marcy Teodoro, Las Piñas City Mayor Imelda Aguilar, Mandaluyong City Mayor Carmelita Abalos, and San Juan City Mayor Francis Zamora.