Oversight committee declares more than half of 897 brgys in Cavite ‘drug cleared’

Published March 8, 2020, 12:00 AM

by manilabulletin_admin

By Anthony Giron

CAMP GEN. PANTALEON GARCIA, IMUS, Cavite – The Provincial Oversight Committee on Anti-Illegal Drugs (POCAID) has declared 436, or 52.59 percent of Cavite’s 897 barangays (villages), as drug-cleared.

The Committee also declared at least 13 of the 23 cities and municipalities as drug cleared after looking into the reports of the City and Municipal Anti-Drug Abuse Councils (CADAC and MADAC) and the Barangay Anti-Drug Abuse Council (BADAC) and scrutiny in each area.

Prime tourist destination Tagaytay City and neighboring Mendez-Nuñrez and six other municipalities in the upland eighth district were among the 13 tagged as drug-cleared areas, based on the March 3, 2020 update report of the Cavite Police Provincial Office (PPO).

Tagaytay and Mendez-Nuñez were the first city and municipality that the Committee declared as drug cleared in August 31, 2018 and have retained the status since then. The 8th District was also the first among the province’s eight districts that have been declared drug-cleared, reports revealed.

The Committee is composed of the top officers from the Philippine Drug Enforcement Agency (PDEA), Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), Philippine National Police (PNP) and the Department of Health (DOH)..

Cavite has eight districts comprising seven cities and 16 municipalities. It is the country’s second most densely populated province, based on the census that the Philippine Statistics Authority conducted in 2015.

The latest drug-cleared cities, municipalities and barangays. were contained in the March 3, 2020 report that the Cavite Police Provincial Office (PPO) had released.

The PPO. citing the clearing report, named the drug-cleared cities and municipalities as Tagaytay, Trece Martires and Naic, Alfonso, Indang, Amadeo, General Emilio Aguinaldo (also called Bailen), Magallanes, Maragondon , Mendez-Nuñez, Ternate, Noveleta and Rosario, also called Salinas.