Palace declares March 2 special non-working holiday in La Union

By Erwin Beleo

SAN FERNANDO CITY, La Union - Malacañang has declared March 2 a special non-working holiday in La Union to give residents the opportunity to celebrate the province’s 170th founding anniversary.

“It is but fitting and proper that the people of the Province of La Union be given full opportunity to celebrate and participate in the occasion with appropriate ceremonies,” stated Proclamation No. 911, which was signed on February 26 by Executive Secretary Salvador C. Medialdea on authority from President Duterte.

The celebration started on February 21 with the opening of the Agri-Tourism village wherein 19 towns and a city exhibited their One Town, One Product (OTOP) held at the top of Capitol Hill, Provincial Government in San Fernando City, La Union.

The theme is “Eyeing Transformation, Focusing on Love”.

Other festivities slated are the first La Union Coalition of Civil Society Organizations Congress, Vibrant Women, Inc. Ball, Employee's Night, Farmer's Fisherfolks and Cooperative's Night, “Aldaw ti Arte ken Kultura”, Skills Competition, Inter-LGU street dancing competition this February 28, and the most awaited highlight part of the activity which is the “Mutia ti La Union” coronation night on March 2.

La Union was created as a province on March 2, 1850 through a superior decreto signed by then Spanish Governor-General Antonio Maria Blanco.

This province has set its vision to become “The Heart of Agri-Tourism in Northern Luzon by 2025”.