BOQ7 looking for 20 Korean tourists from Daegu

Published February 27, 2020, 12:00 AM

by manilabulletin_admin

By Calvin Cordova

CEBU CITY—The Bureau of Quarantine-Central Visayas (BOQ 7) is trying to locate 20 Korean tourists who recently arrived in Cebu from Daegu City, North Gyeongsang Province in South Korea where cases of coronavirus diseases (COVID-19) have been reported.

Dr. Jaime Bernadas, regional director of the Department of Health-Central Visayas (DOH 7), said that although the tourists did not show symptoms of COVID-19, they are considered Persons Under Monitoring (PUM) since they came from a place with cases of COVID-19.

Bernadas said that once the Koreans are located, they will be restricted in the place where they are staying.

“It will be up to the Korean embassy if they will be sent home,” said Bernadas.

In a meeting with DOH 7, BOQ 7 and other health officials Wednesday night, Cebu Governor Gwendolyn Garcia said Filipinos or holders of permanent resident visa arriving in Cebu from Gyeongsang Province will be subjected to mandatory quarantine.

Korean nationals from Gyeongsang Province will not be allowed to disembark from aircrafts upon arrival at the Mactan Cebu International Airport (MCIA) and will be asked to return to their point of origin.

Garcia clarified that the implementation of the measure in Cebu will still be up to the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Disease (IAFT-EID).

Passengers who are Cebu residents will be brought to a facility for 14-day quarantine while non-Cebu residents will be asked to return to their provinces.

There are five persons under investigation (PUI) in Cebu housed in a facility for  mandatory quarantine while there are 144 PUM.

There are 22 flights in a week to and from Daegu City, Gyeongsang at MCIA.

Dr. Terrence Anthony Bermejo, chief of BOQ 7, said the number of flights had started to decline after the reported COVID-19 outbreak in South Korea.