PHLPost releases commemorative stamps honoring OPM icons

Published November 17, 2019, 6:07 PM

by CJ Juntereal

By Gabriela Baron

The Philippine Postal Corporation (PHLPost) launched sets of commemorative stamps honoring three Filipino music icons.

The “Pinoy Music Icons stamps” feature Original Pilipino Music (OPM) artists Rene Garcia, Rico J. Puno, and Pepe Smith.

(Photo courtesy of PHLpost / MANILA BULLETIN)
(Photo courtesy of PHLpost / MANILA BULLETIN)

Rene Garcia of the band Hotdog composed songs like “Annie Batungbakal”, “Bongga Ka Day”, “Beh, Buti Nga”, “Bitin Sa ‘Yo”, “Ikaw ang Miss Universe ng Buhay Ko”, “Dying to Tell You”, “Langit na Naman”, and “Sana Maganda Ako.”

“Rene pioneered the Manila Sound, a musical genre which mirrored not only the distinctive music of the era but also the sentiments of many Filipinos toward their culture and homeland,” said PHLpost.

Rico J. Puno, on the other hand, rose to stardom after channeling American superstars to forge a distinctive brand of local soul music in the 1970s covering american hits — including “The Way We Were” by Barbra Streisand and “Baby I’m for Real” by Marvin Gaye.

Meanwhile, Pepe Smith, known to be the “Father of Philippine Rock”, personified Pinoy Rock as lead vocalist and drummer of the Juan dela Cruz Band, thereby, creating a true local music genre.

PHLPost added that the three music legends “played in linking the past and the present generations through their own brand of music, paving the way for the further enhancement of Original Pilipino Music.”

The stamps and Official First Day covers of “Pinoy Music Icon stamps” are available at the Manila Central Post Office and other area post offices nationwide.