SC division membership reorganized

Published October 25, 2019, 3:05 PM

by Gabriela Baron & Minka Klaudia Tiangco

By Rey Panaligan 

The Supreme Court (SC) reorga­nized on Friday morning the mem­bership in its three divisions with the assumption of Chief Justice Diosdado M. Peralta as the 26th head of the judiciary.

Supreme Court of the Philippines (MANILA BULLETIN)
Supreme Court of the Philippines (MANILA BULLETIN)

The first division is now composed of Peralta as chairman, Associate Justice Alfredo Benjamin S. Caguoia as working chairman, and Associate Justices Jose C. Reyes Jr. and Amy C. Lazaro Javier as members. Associ­ate Justice Henri Jean Paul B. Inting was designated temporary member to complete the division of five jus­tices.

The second division, on the other hand, is now headed by Associate Justice Estela M. Perlas Bernabe as chairperson with Associate Justices Andres B. Reyes Jr., Ramon Paul L. Hernando, and Inting as members. Associate Justice Rodil V. Zalameda acts as temporary member.

Associate Justice Mar­vic Mario Victor F. Leonen is chairman of the third division, with Associate Justices Alexander G. Gesmundo, Rosmari D. Carandang, and Zalameda as members. Javier is the temporary member.

There are three vacancies in the 15-member SC. These are the posts vacated with the promotion of Per­alta as Chief Justice, the retirement last September 26 of Associate Justice Francis H. Jardeleza, and the retire­ment at midnight today (October 25) of Senior Associate Justice Antonio T. Carpio.

This is the reason there are tem­porary members in each of the SC’s three divisions.

The en banc or full court raffle committee is now headed by Bern­abe, with Caguioa and Gesmundo as members.

The division raffle committee is headed by Leonen, with Andres B. Reyes Jr. and Jose C. Reyes Jr. as members.

The reorganizations in the chair­manship of the divisions, the mem­bership in the divisions, and the membership in the raffle committees were contained in Special Order Nos. 2722, 2723, and 2724 signed by Chief Justice Peralta.

The three divisions hold ses­sions on Mondays and Wednesdays. The SC, as a full court, meets on Tuesdays.

The SC is now on its recess and will resume sessions on November 4.