Comelec releases list of candidates for district representatives in Southern Leyte, South Cotabato

Published September 12, 2019, 11:18 AM

by Gabriela Baron & Minka Klaudia Tiangco

By Leslie Ann G. Aquino

Eight individuals are running for congressmen in the October 26 polls in the 1st and 2nd Legislative Districts of Southern Leyte.

Commission on Elections   (MANILA BULLETIN)
Commission on Elections (MANILA BULLETIN)

Based on the tentative List of Candidates released by the Commission on Elections, the bets in the 1st District of Southern Leyte are Roger Mercado, Vicente Geraldo, and Albert Esclamado.

For the 2nd District of Southern Leyte, the candidates are Aniceto Saludo, Miguelino Caturan, Napoleon Cuaton, Sheffered Tan, and Christopherson Yap.

The poll body also released the tentative list of candidates for congressmen in the 1st District and 3rd District of South Cotabato where the polls will also be held on October 26.

The lone candidate in the 1st District of South Cotabato is Isidro Lumayag.

The 3rd District of South Cotabato, on the other hand, has four candidates namely; Pedro Acharon, Shirlyn Banas-Nograles, Abelardo Plaza, and Benjamin Rivera.

The candidates may campaign until October 24.

The poll body earlier suspended the holding of elections for district representatives of these provinces to a date later than May 13, 2019, due to operational and logistical constraints, in view of the passage of laws reapportioning the said legislative districts.

Republic Act No. 11198 reapportioning Southern Leyte into two legislative districts became effective on February 19, 2019, while R.A. No. 11243 reapportioning the first legislative district of South Cotabato thereby creating the lone legislative district of General Santos City became effective on April 4, 2019.