3 Cebu shipping groups merge

Published August 8, 2019, 6:32 PM

by Martin Sadongdong & Antonio Colina

By Minerva Newman 

CEBU CITY – Three Cebu-based shipping owners and operators have formed the Philippine Coastwise Shipping Association (PCSA) Inc. with former president Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo as its chairman emeritus.

(Cebu Port Authority Official Facebook Page / MANILA BULLETIN)
(Cebu Port Authority Official Facebook Page / MANILA BULLETIN)

In a media release, PCSA said Arroyo’s position is in recognition of her support to the local shipping industry when she authored the establishment of The Strong Republic RORO Nautical Highway.

She will also swear in PCSA’s Board of Trustees and officers on Aug. 16.

PCSA Chairman Lucio Lim, Jr. said the new association is made up of members formerly from the Philippine RORO Operators Association (PROA), Visayan Association of Ferry Boat and Coastwise Shipowners Operators (VAFCSO) and United Trampers Association of the Philippines (UTAP).

Lim said that with the merger, PCSA becomes the largest shipping association in the country and the biggest combined gross tonnage of ships.

“The PCSA aims to further strengthen its advocacy in the development of a robust domestic shipping industry,” Lim said.

The association has engaged an administrator and secretariat based here to handle its membership, internal and external relationships, industry concerns and further promote its advocacy.

“PCSA aims to promote among its members responsible ship ownership and adherence to the accepted standards of safety and service in domestic shipping operations,” Lim said.

Elected PCSA chairman was Lucio E. Lim, Jr., president and CEO of Lite Shipping Corporation. President Paul Rodriguez of Super Shuttle Ferry and Benson Go of Seensam Shipping were elected vice president for cargo shipping, Vicente Montenegro Jr. of Montenegro Shipping as vice president for passenger shipping; Pio Serafin Fulache of Medallion Shipping as treasurer and Ms. Teresa Abad of 2GO Group as corporate secretary.

Elected as the board of trustees were Lucio Lim, Jr., Paul Rodriguez, Vicente Montenegro Jr. Alexander Cohon of Lapulapu Shipping Lines; Arthur Kenneth Sy of Trans Asia Shipping; Jose Emery Roble of Roble Shipping; Teresa Abad, Pio Serafin Fulache and Benson Go.