Senate President Tito Sotto says he hope both Senators JV Ejercito and Nancy Binay would win in the 2019 senatorial race

Published May 17, 2019, 6:32 PM

by Ellalyn De Vera & Richa Noriega

By Hannah Torregoza

If possible, Senate President Vicente “Tito” Sotto III said he hopes both Senators Joseph Victor “JV” Ejercito and Nancy Binay would win in the 2109 senatorial race.

Senator Vicente “Tito” Sotto III gestures after elected as a newly Senate President at Senate Building in Pasay city, May 21,2018.(Czar Dancel)
Senate President Vicente “Tito” Sotto III

Sotto said he is torn between both reelectionist senators whom he said deserve to be part of the Senate in the 18th Congress.

Earlier, Binay claimed victory over the 12th spot on the so-called ‘Magic 12’ while Ejercito has yet to concede defeat since there are still a considerable amount of votes that have yet to be counted in Mindanao where he believes he is strong.

“Nagaagaw eh. The Pilipino word would be nagaagaw. I hope that Sen. JV Ejercito will make it.

“But when you hope for that, nakakatakot kasi ‘yung sa No. 12 ay si Nancy, so gusto mo rin manalo ‘yun..kung pwede lang mananalo silang lahat.

“So, it’s really nagaagaw ‘yung tuwa at kaba na finally malaman natin kung ano talaga ang decision ng majority ng ating mga kababayan,” Sotto said.

Nevertheless, Sotto said he is waiting for the final and official results from the Commission on Elections (Comelec) and is planning to monitor the developments at the PICC.

“I’m sure one of my lawyers will be able to monitor the official national canvassing,” said Sotto, a stalwart of the Nationalist Peoples’ Coalition (NPC).

Sotto said he is happy and pleased with the results of the midterm elections, noting that most of the senatorial candidates he endorsed made it to the top 12.

Among the candidates, Sotto endorsed were re-electionist Senators Cynthia Villar, Grace Poe, Juan Edgardo “Sonny” Angara, Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III, Binay, Ejercito, along with former Special Assistant to the President Christopher “Bong” Go, Taguig Rep. Pia Cayetano, and former Sen. Lito Lapid.