Fernando, Alvarado officially proclaimed, to swap positions at the end of current terms

Published May 17, 2019, 7:13 PM

by Francine Ciasico

By Freddie Velez 

CITY OF MALOLOS, Bulacan–Three days after the election, incumbent Vice Governor Daniel R. Fernando and Governor Wilhelmino M. Sy-Alvarado were proclaimed as the new governor and vice governor respectively in the province of Bulacan held at the Hiyas ng Bulacan Pavilion Center Thursday night.

Fernando garnered a total of 706,903 votes from the Bulakenyos while his closest competitor City of Malolos Mayor Christian D. Natividad got 406,366 votes.

The vice governor’s seat that will be vacated by Fernando will be filled up by his running-mate and outgoing Governor Sy-Alvarado who garnered 812,859 votes, who won against Board Member Anjo Mendoza with only 452,006 votes.

According to Fernando, he and his partner Alvarado will continuously strive for a better and more progressive Bulacan.

“Tuluy-tuloy po ang ating serbisyo para sa mga Bulakenyo tulad ng pagbibigay ng libreng serbisyong medikal sa mga nasa barangay, ang pagbibigay ng scholarship sa ating mga mag-aaral, gayundin ang pagsuporta sa ating mga magsasaka. Dodoblehin po natin ang serbisyo para sa lalong ikauunlad ng ating lalawigan,” Fernando said.

Bulakenyos gave the dynamic tandem of Fernando and Alvarado an overwhelming victory.

Both Alvarado and Fernando thanked their province mates for their trust and confidence and vowed to further boost the programs that will rev up anew the engines of growth in the province. They both said, that they will do everything to give back to all of his constituents every day the service above self public service.

“Tapos na ang eleksyon kaya magkaisa tayong muli at magsamasama para sa patuloy na pagpapaunlad ng ating dakilang lalawigan at antas ng buhay ng bawa’t Bulakenyo,” they said.

Meanwhile, the Province of Bulacan will be represented in Congress by Jose Antonio Sy-Alvarado for the First District, Gavini ‘Apol’ Pancho for the Second District, Lorna Silverio for the Third District, Henry Villarica for the Fourth District and Rida Robes for the Lone District of the City of San Jose Del Monte.

Also, the Sangguniang Panlalawigan will be composed of Board Members namely Allan Andan, Mina Fermin and Jong Ople for the First District; Ramon ‘Monet’ Posadas and Pechay Dela Cruz for the Second District; Emilita Viceo and RC Nono Castro for the Third District; and Alexis Castro, Allan Ray Baluyut and Jonjon Delos Santos for the Fourth District.

The newly elected local officials of the province are set to take their oath of office on June 28, 2019.