Comelec declares PDP-Laban, NP Dominant Majority, Minority parties in May 13 polls

Published May 9, 2019, 4:25 PM

by AJ Siytangco

By Leslie Ann Aquino

The Commission on Elections declared the Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) and the Nacionalista Party (NP) as Dominant Majority and Dominant Minority Parties, respectively in the May 13 midterm polls.


This means that PDP-Laban and NP are entitled to the following: the fifth and sixth copies of election returns (ERs), respectively from the vote counting machines, receive electronically-transmitted precinct results, get the seventh and eighth copies of the Certificates of Canvass (COCs), respectively, and assign official watchers in every polling place and canvassing center.

In Resolution No. 10538, the Comelec said the Dominant Majority and Dominant Minority Parties were determined after PDP-Laban (55.74 points) and NP (35.87 points) got the highest weight average points based on the computation using the criteria earlier provided by the poll body.

The same resolution promulgated May 8 also revealed the accreditation of the major national parties and major local parties.

The Major National Parties are the following: Liberal Party (LP), Nationalist People’s Coalition (NPC), United Nationalist Alliance (UNA), Lakas-Christian Muslim Democrats (Lakas-CMD), Workers and Peasants Party (WPP), Laban ng Demokratikong Pilipino (LDP), National Unity Party (NUP), and Aksyon Demokratiko.

Major national parties are entitled to get the 9th to 18th copies of election returns (ERs) in every polling precinct, as well as the 9th to 18th copies of all Certificates of Canvass (COCs), and deploy official watchers in every polling place and canvassing center.

The Major Local Parties, on the other hand are: Arangkada San Joseño Political Party for San Jose Del Monte City, Bulacan; Asenso Manileño Movement for City of Manila; Bileg Party for Ilocos Sur; Hugpong ng Pagbabago for Davao Region; Hugpong sa Tawing Lungsod for Davao City; Malayang Kilusan ng mga Mamamayang Zambaleño for Zambales; Partido Abe Kapampangan for Angeles City, Pampanga; Partido Navoteño for Navotas City; Serbisyo sa Bayan Party for Quezon City; Sulong Dignidad for Makati City; Unang Sigaw for Nueva Ecija; and Kabalikat ng Bayan sa Kaunlaran for National Capital Region.

The 19th and 20th copies of the ERs and COCs in their respective provinces or region shall be given to the accredited major local parties.

According to the said Resolution, the dominant majority party, the dominant minority party, the major national parties and major local parties shall be determined on the basis of the following criteria: the established record of the said parties, coalition of groups that now composed them, taking into account among other things, their showing in past elections; the number of incumbent elective officials belonging to them on the last day of the filing of the certificate of candidacy; their identifiable political organizations and strengths as evidenced by their organized chapters; the ability to field a slate of candidates from the municipal level to the senatorial positions; the number of women candidates fielded by political parties from the municipal level to the position of senator; and other analogous circumstances that may determine their relative organizations and strengths.