4 mild quakes shake Surigao, Agusan provinces

Published April 18, 2019, 8:54 AM

by Patrick Garcia

By Mike Crismundo

BUTUAN CITY – Four mild earthquakes struck Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur and Agusan del Sur provinces Thursday morning, April 18, 2019, the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) said.

In its bulletin, Phivolcs said the 2.5 magnitude tremor was recorded at 7:05 a.m.

The epicenter was plotted 86 kilometers (km) northeast of Hinatuan town, Surigao del Surn province, it said.

The earthquake was tectonic in origin and had a depth of 17 km.

Earlier, a 2.1 magnitude tremor was also registered at 7:03 a.m. also on Thursday and its epicenter was traced 66 km northeast of the same town of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur province, with a depth of 14 km, it also said.

At 6:24 a.m., also on Thursday, a 1.9 magnitude tremor was recorded and its epicenter was located only 13 km northwest from the town proper of Del Carmen, Surigao del Norte province, with a depth of 33 km.

The Surigao del Sur and Surigao del Norte provincial disaster risk reduction and management councils there reported no damage or injury.

A 2.2 magnitude earthquake was also registered at 5:09 a.m. and its epicenter was pinpointed only 7 km northeast of Talacogon town, Agusan del Sur province, with a shallow depth of only 9 km, Phivolcs also said in its bulletin.

The tremor was also tectonic in origin and no aftershock was expected.