Young math, science medalists honored with Student Excellence Award

Published March 16, 2019, 10:44 AM

by AJ Siytangco

By Jonathan Hicap

Elementary and high school students from Muntinlupa and other areas in Metro Manila, and nearby provinces who won in international math, science and English contests in 2018 were feted at a ceremony to honor their achievements.

Students from De La Salle Santiago Zobel School in Muntinlupa with former senator Alan Peter Cayetano at the awards ceremony. (Jonathan Hicap / MANILA BULLETIN)
Students from De La Salle Santiago Zobel School in Muntinlupa with former senator Alan Peter Cayetano at the awards ceremony. (Jonathan Hicap / MANILA BULLETIN)

The inaugural Student Excellence Award was organized by the Mathematics Trainers Guild Philippines (MTG), Department of Education and SM Supermalls.

Former senator and foreign affairs secretary Alan Peter Cayetano, who was the guest of honor, pledged to raise funds of at least P1 million for MTG after the elections and before June 30 this year to help the organization in training and sending Filipino students to international contests.

Also gracing the awarding ceremony were Dr. Jocelyn Andaya, Director IV of the DepEd Bureau of Curriculum Development; Flordelita Male of DepEd-National Capital Region; MTG president Dr. Isidro Aguilar; MTG co-founder Dr. Simon Chua; and MTG vice president Dr. Eduardo dela Cruz Jr.

Student awardee John Florence Dizon said that “through the help of MTG, I have been trained and given opportunities to represent the country countless times and win awards in these contests.”

From Muntinlupa, students who received the Student Excellence Award were from De La Salle Santiago Zobel School, San Beda College Alabang, Itaas Elementary School, PAREF Woodrose, and Southernside Montessori School.

Other awardees in the National Capital Region came from Ateneo de Manila Grade School, Ateneo de Manila Junior HS, Bangkal Elem. School Main, British School Manila, Caloocan National Science & Technology HS, Centro Montessori Internationale, Chiang Kai Shek College, Child Development and Guidance Center, Colegio de San Juan de Letran, Colegio de Santa Ana, Colegio San Agustin-Makati, Comembo Elem. School, De La Salle University Integrated School Senior HS, East Rembo Elem. School, Espiritu Santo Parochial School Manila, Falcon School, Far Eastern University Senior HS, Grace Christian College, Holy Rosary Academy of Las Pinas, Hope Christian HS, Immaculate Conception Academy Greenhills, Immaculate Heart of Mary College Paranaque and Integrated Montessori Center Guadalupe.

Also recognized were students from Jean-Baptiste of Reims College, Jubilee Christian Academy, Kapitan Eddie Reyes Integrated School, Kapitan Jose Cardones Memorial Elementary School, Keys School Manila, La Immaculada Concepcion School, La Salle Greenhills, Las Pinas City National Science HS, Lourdes School of Quezon City, Makati Science HS, Maria Montessori Holy Christian School, MGC New Life Christian Academy, Miriam College Quezon City, MSA Whiz Kids Academy, Notre Dame of Greater Manila, Pace Academy, Pasig Catholic College, Pembo Elementary School, Philippine Cultural College Caloocan, Philippine Cultural College-Main, Philippine Academy of Sakya, Philippine Institute of Quezon City, Philippine Science HS-Main, Project 6 Elem. School Special Science Class, Quezon City Christian Academy, Quezon City Science HS, Ricardo P. Cruz Elem. School and Rizal Elem. School.

Other awardees came from Saint Mary’s Academy Pasay, San Antonio National HS, San Antonio Village Elem. School, San Juan Elem. School, School of St. Anthony, Senator Renato “Companero” Cayetano Memorial Science & Technology HS, Signal Village National HS, Silangan Elem. School, South Cembo Elem. School, Southville International Schools and Colleges, St. Jude Catholic School, St. Mary’s Academy Pasay, St. Paul College of Paranaque, St. Patul College Pasig, St. Paul University Quezon City, St. Pedro Poveda College, St. Stephen’s HS, St. Theresa’s College Quezon City, Taguig Integrated School, Taguig Science HS, Taguig Science HS-San Miguel, The Learning Tree Child Growth Center, University of Perpetual Help System Dalta Las Pinas, University of Santo Tomas Junior HS-Manila, University of the Philippines Integrated School, UNO HS, Upper Bicutan Elem. School, Upper Bicutan National HS, Valenzuela City School of Mathematics & Science, Vel Maris School, Victory Christian International School, West Rembo Elem. School and Xavier School.

From Bulacan, Cavite and Antipolo, the awardees were from Binuangan Elem. School, Dr. Yanga’s Colleges, Jesus Is Lord Colleges Foundation, Mariano Ponce National HS, Marymount Professional Colleges, Parada National HS, Saint Mary’s College of Meycauayan, Salambao Elem. School, Santa Maria National HS, Dasmarinas II Central School, De La Salle Medical & Health Sciences Institute, De La Salle University-Dasmarinas Junior HS, Divine Light Academy Molino, Elizabeth Seton School-South, Imus National HS, Imus Pilot Elem. School, International British Academy, Malagasang 2 Elem. School, Our Lady of the Holy Rosary School-Gen. Trias, Sabang Elem. School, St. Francis of Assisi College System-Molino, St. Paul College-Island Park, SV Montessori, The Palmridge School, University of Perpetual Help-Molino, Vel Maris School and La Salle College Antipolo.

Students in Lucena and Laguna areas who received awards came from Colegio San Agustin-Binan, De La Salle University-Laguna, De La Salle University Integrated School Canlubang, Emmanuel Christian School, Jose Rizal Memorial School, Laguna College, Montessori House of Learning, Morning Star Montessori School-Calamba, San Pablo City Science HS, St. Cruz Elem. School, Sta. Rosa Elem. School Central III, Sta. Rosa Science & Technology HS, Xavier School-Nuvali and International School for Better Beginnings-Lucena.

“We congratulate these students for bringing honor to our country and we hope that these awards will inspire them even more. We thank Education Secretary Leonor Briones and the whole DepEd, and SM Supermalls for their overwhelming support and partnership in establishing the Student Excellence Award,” said Dr. Aguilar.

Contest winners from other regions will also be given the SEA, added Aguilar.