VP names Dantes as ambassador for ‘stories of hope’ film fest

Published March 11, 2019, 3:51 PM

by Patrick Garcia

By Raymund Antonio

Actor Dingdong Dantes has been named ambassador of this year’s Istorya ng Pag-asa (Stories of Hope) Film Festival organized by the Office of Vice President Leni Robredo, Film Development Council of the Philippines, and Ayala Foundation.

Vice President Leni Robredo (OVP / MANILA BULLETIN)
Vice President Leni Robredo

The OVP released a statement on Monday that Dantes was chosen ambassador for the 2019 INPFF, a project of Robredo that promotes inspiring and real-life stories of Filipinos.

An advocate for the arts and the youth, Dantes was the host of the film fest’s gala night and awarding ceremonies last year.

Dante had served as commissioner of the National Youth Commission during the Aquino administration, but he resigned to campaign for Robredo in the 2016 elections.

The OVP is accepting entries for the second INPFF until March 25. Robredo’s INP project started as a traveling photo exhibit.

The INPFF is a nationwide, all-digital competition open to all Filipinos filmmakers here and abroad for original short documentaries. The entries should not exceed five minutes.

The film fest, which was launched in November 2017, aims to showcase stories of hope and inspiration to spread positivity among Filipinos.

“It is our hope that through Istorya ng Pag-asa—lalo na iyong Istorya ng Pag-asa Film Festival—Filipinos will be united around the common values of hope, of perseverance, deep faith, and the goodness of humanity. Because that’s really the underlying theme of every story,” said Robredo.

This year’s participants will win cash prizes and they will get the chance for their short films to be screened at Ayala Mall Cinemas. The winner for Best Film will get P80,000, while the first and second runners-up will receive P50,000 and P30,000, respectively.

Aside from special prizes for Best Script, Best Director, and Best Cinematography, the 2019 INPFF will also give away a People’s Choice Award and a special award from Ayala Foundation.