BTA to be made accountable in running BARMM – Palace

Published February 20, 2019, 2:47 PM

by Patrick Garcia


By Genalyn Kabiling

Members of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA) will be made accountable for their actions if they do not govern the new autonomous region effectively, Malacañang declared Wednesday.

Presidential Spokesman Salvador Panelo (OPS / MANILA BULLETIN)
Presidential Spokesman Salvador Panelo

Presidential Spokesman Salvador Panelo said they expect the transition team to lead the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) well, having learned from the lessons from the old Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM).

“You must remember that there have been complaints about the governance in the previous entities and hopefully this new one, given the fact that they have learned their lessons, (would do better),” he said during a Palace press briefing.

“I’m sure they will lead this time effectively. Otherwise they will answer to the Muslim people,” he added.
President Duterte is expected to administer the oath of the 80-member transition team of the Bangsamoro region in Malacañang this Friday.

The Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) has nominated 41 representatives to the BTA while the government considered 39 individuals. Of the BTA nominees, nine will come from the Moro National Liberation Front (MNLF).

The oath-taking ceremony has been scheduled following the ratification of the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) in a recent plebiscite in the proposed territories.

Under the BOL, the MILF shall lead the BTA without prejudice to the participation of the MNLF in its membership.

It will be composed of 80 members appointed by the President representing various sectors.

The legislative and executive powers in the Bangsamoro region will be vested in the BTA until 2022 or when the regional government leaders are elected.

Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process Carlito Galvez Jr. earlier said the President wanted the BTA members to have “no record of corruption” and be “sincere public servants.”