Palace declares more holidays in select areas this month

Published February 9, 2019, 11:41 AM

by AJ Siytangco

By Argyll Cyrus Geducos

Malacañang has declared four more special non-working holidays in select areas in the country to give way to important celebrations.

Proclamation No. 667 declared February 18, Monday, a special non-working holiday in the city of Bayawan in Negros Oriental for the Tawo-Tawo Festival which is celebrated on the fourth week of February.

Malacañang Palace. (Photo by Richard V. Viñas) | Manila Bulletin
Malacañang Palace (Photo by Richard V. Viñas) | Manila Bulletin)

“To enable the people of the City of Bayawan to celebrate and participate in the occasion, the Sanggunian Panlungsod of Bayawan requested that Monday, 18 February 2019, be declared a special (non-working) day, in celebration of the Tawo-Tawo Festival,” the Proclamation read.

The Tawo-Tawo Festival reflects the culture of the City of Bayawan being a rice granary of the southern part of the Province of Negros Oriental.

Malacañang also declared February 19, Tuesday, a special non-working holiday in Bago, Negros Occidental in celebration of its 53rd Charter Anniversary.

February 26, Tuesday is also a special non-working holiday in the City of Zamboanga which will celebrate its 82nd Charter Anniversary.

Proclamation No. 670 declared February 27, Wednesday, a special non-working holiday in General Santos City in celebration of it the city’s 80th Founding Anniversary and the 30th Kalilangan Festival.

The four new proclamations were signed by Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea.