Over 450 firecrackers, 55 community fireworks display zones in Metro Manila

Published December 29, 2018, 3:11 PM

by Francine Ciasico

By Martin Sadongdong 

To ensure a safe and secure New Year’s Eve revelry, the National Capital Region Police Office (NCRPO) identified on Saturday a total of 404 firecracker zones and 55 community fireworks display zones in Metro Manila.

Newly assigned National Capital Region Police Office (NCRPO) Director Guillermo Eleazar (FEDERICO CRUZ / MANILA BULLETIN)
National Capital Region Police Office (NCRPO) Director Guillermo Eleazar

NCRPO Director Guillermo Eleazar said this is in compliance with President Duterte’s Executive Order 28 which provides for the regulation and control of the use of firecrackers and other pyrotechnic devices.

Issued in June 2017, EO 28 states that the use of firecrackers shall be confined to community fireworks display to minimize the risk of firecracker-related injuries and casualties.

According to Eleazar, 404 firecracker zones were set in all five police districts: Quezon City Police District (QCPD) with 166; Northern Police District (NPD) with 93; Manila Police District (MPD) with 73; Southern Police District (SPD) with 52; and Eastern Police District (EPD) with 20.

Moreover, 55 community fireworks display zones were also designated around the metro: QCPD with 34; EPD with 12; SPD with five; NPD and MPD with two apiece.

“Muling hinihikayat ang kooperasyon ng ating mga kababayan na sumunod sa mga alituntunin para sa ligtas na pagsalubong ng Bagong Taon (We appeal to the public to cooperate and follow the rules for a safe New Year’s Eve celebration),” Eleazar said.

“Mayroong mga designated community firecracker zones para doon pwedeng gamitin ang mga authorized na paputok at meron ding designated community fireworks display zones kung saan makakapanood ng magagandang pyrotechnics (There are designated community firecracker zones where you can use authorized crackers and there are designated community fireworks display zones where you can watch beautiful pyrotechnic displays),” he added.

Earlier, the Philippine National Police-Firearms and Explosives Office (PNP-FEO) bared a list of allowed and prohibited firecrackers.

The prohibited firecrackers include Piccolo, Watusi, Giant Whistle Bomb, Giant Bawang, Large Judas’ Belt, Super Lolo/Thunder Lolo, Atomic Bomb/Atomic Bomb Triangulo, Pillbox, Boga, Kwiton, Goodbye Earth/Goodbye Bading, Hello Columbia, Coke-in-can, Kabasi, Og and other unlabeled and imported firecrackers.

Meanwhile, the allowed firecrackers and pyrotechnic devices are Baby Rocket, Bawang, El Diablo, Judas’ Belt, Paper Caps, “Pulling of strings,” Sky Rocket (kwitis), small Trianggulo, Butterfly, Fountain, jumbo, regular and special Luces, Mabuhay, Roman Candle, Sparklers, Trompillo and Whistle.

Those who will be caught using prohibited firecrackers will be arrested and may face hefty consequences.