3 tectonic quakes jolt Davao region provinces

Published December 18, 2018, 8:51 AM

by Patrick Garcia

By Mike Crismundo

BUTUAN CITY – Three mild tectonic earthquakes jolted Davao region provinces Tuesday morning, the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) said.

The regional Office of Civil Defense in Southern Mindanao and disaster risk reduction and management councils there reported no damage or injury.

In its bulletin, Phivolcs said a 2.0 magnitude earthquake was recorded at 5:12 a.m. on Tuesday (Dec. 18).

The epicenter was plotted 24 kilometers (km) southeast of Samal (Island Garden City of Samal), Davao del Norte province.

The earthquake had a depth of 28 km, it said.

Earlier, a 3.4 magnitude tremor was registered at 4:39 a.m. of the same day (Dec. 18), Phivolcs said.

The epicenter was traced 50 km southeast of Governor Generoso town, Davao Oriental province, the state agency said.

The tremor had a depth of 19 km, it also said.

At 2:20 a.m. of the same day (Dec. 18), a 2.6 magnitude earthquake was also recorded, the state agency said.

The epicenter was located 17 km northwest of the same town of Governor Generoso, also of Davao Oriental province, Phivolcs said.

The earthquake had a depth of 84 km.

The three tremors were tectonic in origin and no tsunami alert was raised by the state agency.