Ex-ARMM executive secretary: Common vision will unite the Bangsamoro

Published November 19, 2018, 12:20 PM

by AJ Siytangco

By Antonio Colina IV

COTABATO CITY – The Moro people must have a clear vision of the future Bangsamoro to find a common ground where they can work together, former Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) executive secretary lawyer Naguib Sinarimbo said.

former Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) executive secretary lawyer Naguib Sinarimbo (Facebook / MANILA BULLETIN)
former Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) executive secretary lawyer Naguib Sinarimbo

“If they do not have that, if they don’t have anything specific as to what they want to achieve; they will be tied down to their daily activities. That will become a problem if we do not specify what we want, if they do not know where they want to go,” Sinarimbo said during the Bangsamoro Visioning exercise for members of the Moro Islamic Liberation Front from November 16 to 18 held at the Alnor Hotel in Cotabato City.

Sinarimbo said a vision will bring the Bangsamoro region together on a common path in attaining their desired developments in the future.

“We need to galvanize the community, the whole Bangsamoro that there is something that we have to attain so that they will contribute to the efforts to get to where want to be,” he said.

Sinarimbo said that setting a vision will enable them to monitor their progress and come up with specific steps to help them achieve their goals during and even after the transition period.

The activity was part of a series of visioning exercises conducted for the Bangsamoro people from across different clustered areas in Mindanao such as Maguindanao, Cotabato City, and North Cotabato; South Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, and General Santos; Davao Region; Lanao del Norte, Lanao del Sur, Marawi, and Iligan; Zamboanga City and Zamboanga Peninsula provinces; Sulu and Taw-Tawi; and Basilan and Palawan clusters.

Other stakeholders who participated include religious, academe, professionals, political leaders, traditional leaders, women, youth, internally displaces persons, non-Moro IPs, civil society organizations, business groups, media and persons with disabilities.

“In the next three years, what is it that want to see in our governance. It’s important that we understand if we are progressing if we are walking without even getting to our milestones. How close are we? What are the measures that we need to do so that we can get there?” Sinarimbo said during the activity.

Anon A. Mohammad, provincial chairperson of the Social Welfare Committee of Tawi-Tawi, said she hopes that the leaders of the future government will be responsive, honest, loyal, and just and that the people will finally enjoy a peaceful, harmonious and prosperous community.

Abdul Maomit Tomawis, provincial chairman of the MILF’s Political Committee in Lanao del Sur, said they want to see high impact economic upliftment program for the Bangsamoro people to get them out of poverty.

He said he also wants to see the full implementation of the 2014 Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro (CAB) of the GPH-MILF in the following years.

On July 27, President Rodrigo Duterte signed into law the Organic Law for the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (OLBARRM), previously referred to as the Bangsamoro Basic Law, an enabling law of the CAB, which would pave the way for the creation of a new political entity that would replace the ARMM.

The Bangsamoro’s territorial jurisdiction covers the ARMM area (Basilan, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Lanao del Sur and Maguindanao), 6 towns in Lanao del Norte and 39 barangays in North Cotabato.

But the 6 towns and 39 barangays will vote in a one-time plebiscite scheduled on January 21, 2019 to determine if majority of its residents want to be part of the Bangsamoro territory.

The areas outside the core territories can become part of the Bangsamoro territory through a resolution of the local government units or upon petition of at least 10% of the registered voters and approved by the majority of the qualified voters cast in the plebiscite.