Davao City to host SSEAYP delegates

Published November 13, 2018, 3:21 PM

by Francine Ciasico

By Antonio Colina IV

DAVAO CITY – Davao City will host youth leaders from the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) and Japan on Sunday as part of the activities during the four-day stay of the delegates for Ship for Southeast Asian and Japanese Youth Program (SSEAYP) in the Philippines.

(image from SSEAYP Facebook / MANILA BULLETIN)
(image from SSEAYP Facebook / MANILA BULLETIN)

Steve Laurence Arquiza, former commissioner of the National Youth Commission (NYC), said at least 13 visitors — 11 youth leaders, Philippine national leader, and ship administrator – out of more than 300 SSEAYP delegates will fly to the city where they are set to visit some of the tourist sites.

He said it will be the first time ever that the Japanese government will send some delegates on a side trip to a city in Mindanao.

“We are happy that they decided to include Davao in the program. The Japanese government, especially its Japanese consulate here in Davao, sends out advisories to residents in Mindanao because of the security situation. Regardless of those issues, they decided to bring in the program here,” Arquiza, a former Philippine delegate to SSEAYP, said.

He said bringing SSEAYP delegates to Davao shows the “trust and confidence” of the organizers on the security preparation of the city and its capability to hold meaningful activities.

Arquiza hopes the participants will encourage more people to visit the city when they return to their home countries at the end of the 53-day program.

The delegates are scheduled to meet City Mayro Sara Duterte and visit Davao City’s Central 911, Public Safety and Security Command Center, Chocolate Museum of the Malagos Garden Resort, and Amiya Resorts Residences.

SSEAYP is a program created after the signing of a Joint Statement issued in January 1974 between Japan, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines Singapore, and Thailand. More countries – Brunei Darussalam, Vietnam, Lao, Myanmar, and Camboadia – later joined in the program.