9 make it to JBC shortlist for vacant SC post

Published October 1, 2018, 1:41 PM

by Patrick Garcia

By Jeffrey Damicog

There are nine nominees, eight of them incumbent associate justices of the Court of Appeals (CA), to the post of associate justice of the Supreme Court (SC) that was vacated with the early retirement of Justice Samuel R. Martires who was appointed Ombudsman.


Nominated by the Judicial and Bar Council (JBC), in the order of the votes garnered, were CA Associate Justices Japar B. Dimaampao, Ramon R. Garcia, Manuel M. Barrios, Apolinario D. Bruselas Jr., Rosmari D. Carandang, Edgardo L. Delos Santos, Ramon Paul L. Hernando and Amy C. Lazaro Javier, and SC Court Administrator Jose Midas P. Marquez.

Dimaampao and Garcia got six votes each; Barrios, Bruselas and Carandang, five votes each; and Delos Santos, Hernando, Lazaro Javier and Marquez, four votes each.

The JBC, the constitutionally mandated office that accepts, screens and nominates appointments to the judiciary, has submitted the list of nominees to President Duterte.

Whoever is appointed from the JBC nominees would be the President’s sixth appointee in the 15-member SC. This is on top of the President’s promotion of then Associate Justice Teresita J. Leonardo de Castro as Chief Justice and head of the judiciary.

Nomination for Chief Justice

Meanwhile, the JBC opened nominations for the next Supreme Court (SC) Chief Justice on Monday.

This was revealed by Justice Secretary Menardo Guevarra as Chief Justice (CJ) Teresita Leonardo-De Castro is set to retire from her post on October 8.

“So applications/nominations will be accepted starting Monday, until 15 Oct,” Guevarra disclosed. (with a report from Rey Panaligan)