Independence Day of Ecuador


TODAY is Ecuador’s National Day. Known as “Dia del Primer Grito de Independencia de Quito,” it marks the province of Quito’s declaration of independence from Spain in 1809. The people and government of Ecuador celebrate the day with great pride. The streets of Quito, the country’s capital, take on a festive ambience with colorful and lively social gatherings, lively music, concerts, parades, cultural exhibits, and other events in the Plaza de la Independencia and the Palacio de Gobierno in Quito.

Ecuador is a country in the northwestern part of South America. It is bordered by Colombia on the north and Peru on the east and south. The Pacific Ocean is on the west. The country derived its name from its location which is crossed by the equator.

While Guayaquil is its largest and most populous city, Ecuador’s capital and seat of national government is Quito. Quito was founded in the 16th century on the ruins of an Inca settlement. It is famed for its well-preserved colonial center, which features 16th and 17th century churches and other edifices whose details coalesce into a magnificent blend of European, Moorish, and indigenous styles. Among the places frequented by tourists are the City Museum of Quito, which is a UNESCO World Heritage site) that traces the city’s beginnings back to when it was an indigenous trading post; the Cathedral of Quito, which is a home to several artworks, sculptures, and paintings of the republican and colonial period; the Plaza Independencia that houses several important buildings including the Archbishop’s Palace, the City Hall, the Cathedral, the Palacio del Gobierno, a distinct building of white neoclassical style; and the Quilotoa Lagoon which was “formed when a now-extinct volcano collapsed and the crater was filled amazingly with an emerald-green lake, resulting from volcanic minerals.

The Philippines and Ecuador enjoy warm and friendly relations. Apart from having a common history of being colonized by the Spain, the two countries are active members of the United Nations and most of its specialized agencies. Ecuador has a Consulate General Office in Makati City while the Philippines has a Consulate Office in the port city of Guayaquil, which is the gateway to the pristine beaches in the Pacific.

We greet the People and Government of the Republic of Ecuador, led by President Lenin Moreno, on the occasion of its Independence Day.