Kapuso stars honored at 49th Box-Office Awards

Several GMA personalities and programs reaped recognitions at the 49th Guillermo Mendoza Memorial Scholarship Foundation (GMMSF) Box-Office Entertainment Awards held at Resorts World Manila recently.

Dingdong Dantes and Marian Rivera were two of the night’s biggest winners. He brought home the coveted Film Actor of the Year award while she received the Female TV Host of the Year award.

Dingdong Dantes and Marian Rivera Dingdong Dantes and Marian Rivera

Regine Velasquez-Alcasid bagged the Female Concert Performer of the Year award while Alden Richards went home with the Male Recording Artist of the Year award.

Seasoned actor Gabby Concepcion won the TV Actor of the Year award for his performance on the hit Afternoon Prime drama series “Ika-6 Na Utos.”

“Eat Bulaga!” host Vic Sotto took home the Comedy Actor of the Year award while child star Baste Granfon received the Most Popular Male Child Performer award.

Ruru Madrid brought home the Most Promising Actor of the Year Award.

In the News & Public Affairs category, GMA Network’s Sunday program “Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho” received the Most Popular TV Program award.

In addition, receiving special awards were Janno Gibbs (Bert Marcelo Lifetime Achievement award); drama anthology “Maynila” (Longest Running Daytime Drama/Drama Anthology & Highest Rating Morning Primetime Drama of All Time); and Maynila’s host Cong. Lito Atienza (Outstanding Public Service award).


  • • •
TFC shows nominated at annual NorCal Emmys

ABS-CBN’s The Filipino Channel (TFC) received four nominations in both program and individual categories in the 47th Annual Northern California Emmy Awards set on June 2 at the San Francisco Jazz Center.

ABS-CBN TFC’s daily news show “BA,” the magazine talk show “Adobo Nation,” ABS-CBN North & Latin America News Desk Editor Henni Espinosa and Director of Photography Jeremiah Ysip were all recognized by the 2018 NorCal Emmys.

The EMMY award is presented for outstanding achievement in television by The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS). San Francisco/Northern California.


  • • •
Tidbits: Happy b-day greetings today, May 31, go to William Martinez, Alex Ricketts, Benhur Villanueva, Adel Almontero, Perlita Magno, Ruby Velasco Rennie, Jojo Gaela, Desiree Silan, and Wheyee Lozada... June 1: Sen. Panfilo Lacson, Alicia Alonzo, Eva Abesamis, Max Ricketts, Froilan Antonio, Angela Andal, Ma. Clarissa Estefa, Nita Magat, Janelle Amanda Avanzado, Josie Tan, Gina Pajo, and Rhea Santos... Happy wedding anniversary to Eric Cruz, and Shirley Halili-Cruz...