100th anniverary of the First Republic Day of Armenia

Published May 27, 2018, 10:00 PM

by Mario Casayuran and Vanne Elaine Terrazola

First Republic Day in Armenia is a public holiday that commemorates the establishment of the Republic of Armenia on May 28, 1918. The day is usually celebrated with fireworks, concerts, torchlight marches, parades, and other social gatherings. It is considered the country’s National Day.

After the 1917 February Revolution in Russia, the Russian Provisional Government established the Special Transcaucasian Committee to govern what are now modern-day Azerbaijan, Armenia, and Georgia. November, 1917, saw the establishment of the Transcaucasian Commissariat that decided to gather a general assembly (Sejm) and proclaim independence. In February, 1918, the Transcaucasian Democratic Federative Republic was proclaimed.3

However, it existed for only three months. On May 28, 1918, the Armenian National Council declared the independence of Armenia. The Republic of Armenia was the first modern Armenian state since the fall of the Armenian Kingdom of Cilicia in 1375. In 1920, it was invaded by the Soviet Red Army. Armenia regained its independence as the current Republic of Armenia in 1991.

Armenia is in the continent of Asia. It shares land borders with Turkey in the west, Iran and Azerbaijan in the east, and Georgia in the north. The country’s capital, Yerevan, is the political center of Armenia and home to its head of state. It is famous for its grand Soviet-era architecture. Its Republic Square is a large central town square in the heart of the city, which features dancing water fountains and colonnaded government buildings.

Armenia and the Philippines have enjoyed warm and friendly relations since May 20, 1992. In 2012, Armenian Foreign Minister Eduard Nalbandyan visited the Philippines. Relations between the two countries were further strengthened with the visit of Armenian non-resident Ambassador Raisa Vardanyan to then Foreign Affairs Secretary Alfredo F. del Rosario on March 19, 2015. Both countries now have non-resident ambassadors. The Armenian ambassador is accredited to Manila from Hanoi while the Philippine ambassador is accredited to Yerevan from Moscow.

We greet the people and government of the Republic of Armenia, led by President Armen Sarkissian, and Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan on the occasion of the 100th Anniversary of the First Republic Day of Armenia.