David vs Goliath across categories in 2nd The Eddys

It took more months than usual for the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd) to zero in on the brave films and bravura performances of 2017 in the 2nd Eddys. And it’s a list championing the overlooked but meritorious, the top box-office draws without taking that against them, and young bloods that might have just eclipsed the more seasoned ones – or did they?

Clockwise: Sharon Cuneta, Aga Muhlach, Alessandra De Rossi, Abra, Bela Padilla and Joshua Garcia (mb.com.ph) Clockwise: Sharon Cuneta, Aga Muhlach, Alessandra De Rossi, Abra, Bela Padilla and Joshua Garcia

Four relative newcomers and a lady filmmaker who has announced her intention to retire will battle it out for the best director plum.
First-time directors Alberto Monteras II (“Respeto”) and Julius Alfonso (“Deadma Walking”), 26-year-old Mikhail Red (“Birdshot”), 34-year-old Raya Martin (“Smaller And Smaller Circles”) are up against consistent hitmaker Cathy Garcia-Molina (“Unexpectedly Yours”) in the heavily contested category of the annual awards derby.

Those five works are also vying for The Eddys’ Film of the Year trophy.

In the best actress race, Megastar Sharon Cuneta (“Unexpectedly Yours”) is pitted against stage stalwart Joanna Ampil (“Ang Larawan”), international award-winning actress Alessandra de Rossi (“Kita Kita”), writer-actress Bela Padilla (“100 Tula Para Kay Stella”), and Mary Joy Apostol (“Birdshot”).

The David and Goliath theme continues in the best actor race as established names Aga Muhlach (“Seven Sundays”) and Ronaldo Valdez (“Seven Sundays”) go up against Joshua Garcia (“Love You To The Stars And Back”) Edgar Allan Guzman (“Deadma Walking”) and rapper Abra (“Respeto”).

There will be three special awards: the Joe Quirino Award will be given to the late movie reviewer and professor Mario Hernando (Posthumous Award), the Manny Pichel Award will be handed to entertainment editor and columnist Ricky Lo, and Producer of the Year will go to Vic del Rosario of Viva Films.

A special tribute will be given to Hernando, directors Mario J. delos Reyes, Soxy Topacio, Maning Borlaza, Argel Joseph, actress Isabel Granada and award-winning actor Bernardo Bernardo.

Organized by SPEEd, the Eddys aims to encourage local filmmakers, producers, writers, and actors to continue pursuing their passion for creating films that mirror the realities of oursociety. It is slated to happen in the middle of the year.

Here is the complete list of nominees for the 2nd Eddys Awards for Movies:


  1. “Birdshot”
  2. “Deadma Walking”
  3. “Respeto”
  4. “Smaller And Smaller Circles”
  5. “Unexpectedly Yours”


  1. Julius Alfonso (“Deadma Walking”)
  2. Raya Martin (“Smaller And Smaller Circles”)
  3. Cathy Garcia-Molina (“Unexpectedly Yours”)
  4. Alberto Monteras II (“Respeto”)
  5. Mikhail Red (“Birdshot”)


  1. Joanna Ampil (“Ang Larawan”)
  2. Mary Joy Apostol (“Birdshot”)
  3. Sharon Cuneta (“Unexpectedly Yours”)
  4. Bela Padilla (“100 Tula Para Kay Stella”)
  5. Alessandra de Rossi (“Kita Kita”)


  1. Abra (“Respeto”)
  2. Joshua Garcia (“Love You To The Stars And Back”)
  3. Edgar Allan Guzman (“Deadma Walking”)
  4. Aga Muhlach (“Seven Sundays”)
  5. Ronaldo Valdez (“Seven Sundays”)


  1. Angeli Bayani (“Maestra”)
  2. Alice Dixson (“The Ghost Bride”)
  3. Chai Fonacier (“Respeto”)
  4. Therese Malvar (“Ilawod”)
  5. Jasmine Curtis-Smith (“Siargao”)


  1. Enrique Gil (“Seven Sundays”)
  2. Sid Lucero (“Smaller And Smaller Circles”)
  3. Dido dela Paz (“Respeto”)
  4. Arnold Reyes (“Birdshot”)
  5. Dominic Roco (“I’m Drunk I Love You”)


  1. Sigrid Andrea Bernardo (“Kita Kita”)
  2. Eric Cabahug (“Deadma Walking”)
  3. Jason Paul Laxamana (“100 Tula Para Kay Stella”)
  4. Njel De Mesa and Alberto Monteras II (“Respeto”)
  5. Raymond Lee/ Ria Limjap (“Smaller And Smaller Circles”)

Mary Joy Apostol in 'Birdshot' (mb.com.ph) Mary Joy Apostol in 'Birdshot'


  1. Ike Avellana (“Respeto”)
  2. Mycko David (“Birdshot”)
  3. Neil Daza (“The Ghost Bride”)
  4. Odyssey Flores (“Siargao”)
  5. J.A. Tadena (“Smaller And Smaller Circles”)


  1. “Ang Panday”
  2. “Bliss”
  3. “Gandarrapido: The Revenger Squad”
  4. “Ilawod”
    5.“The Ghost Bride”


  1. Ryan Cayabyab (“Ang Larawan)
  2. Jay Durias (“Respeto)
  3. Robbie Factoran and Ricardo Jugo (“Siargao”)
  4. Von de Guzman (“Deadma Walking”)
  5. Jerrold Tarog (“I’m Drunk I Love You”)


  1. Popo Diaz (“Respeto”)
  2. Michael Español (“Birdshot”)
  3. Gino Gonzales (“Ang Larawan”)
  4. Ericson Navarro (“Smaller And Smaller Circles”)
  5. Mark Christian Sabas (“The Ghost Bride”)


  1. Nicole Amores, Jason Conanan, Mark Locsin, John Michael Perez, Kathrine Ariane Salinas, Mikko Quizon (“Siargao”)
  2. K.C. Caballero (“Ang Larawan”)
  3. Albert Michael Idioma (“The Ghost Bride”)
  4. Albert Michael Idioma (“100 Tula Para Kay Stella”)
  5. Corinne de San Jose (“Respeto”)


  1. Lawrence Ang (“Respeto”)
  2. Jay Halili and Mikhail Red (“Birdshot”)
  3. Marya Ignacio (“Kita Kita”)
  4. Vanessa de Leon (“Deadma Walking”)
  5. Mark Victor (“Siargao”)


  1. “Aking Ligaya” (“Deadma Walking”) – Lyrics by Eric Cabahug, arranged by Khalil Refuerzo, interpreted by Ahbby Sumaoang Landayan
  2. “Basta’t Kasama Kita” (“I’m Drunk, I Love You”) — Lyrics and arranged by Kai Honasan (and Carlo Lava), interpreted by Kai Honasan
  3. “Kaya Natin ‘Yan” (“100 Tula Para Kay Stella”) Lyrics by Jason Paul Laxamana, arranged by Carl Christian Guevarra, interpreted by Bela Padilla
  4. “Respeto” (“Respeto”) – Lyrics by Abra and Loonie, music by Jay Durias, beats by B-Boy Garcia, interpreted by Abra and Loonie
  5. “Twelve” (12) – Lyrics and interpreted by Alessandra De Rossi, music and arrangement by Marc Abaya

Special Awards: Joe Quirino Award – Mario Hernando (Posthumous Award); Manny Pichel Award – Ricky Lo (Entertainment Editor, Columnist, TV host); Producer of the Year – Vic del Rosario, Viva Films

Posthumous Honorees: Mario Hernando, Mario J. delos Reyes, Soxy Topacio, Maning Borlaza, Bernardo Bernardo, Argel Joseph, and Isabel Granada.