EXO back with new album ‘The Power of Music’

Published September 7, 2017, 2:12 AM

by Hannah Torregoza 

K-pop idol group EXO topped music charts with the release of their new album.

EXO’s 'The War: The Power of Music' (Twitter) / mb.com.ph
EXO’s ‘The War: The Power of Music’ (Twitter)

EXO made their comeback on Sept. 5 with “The War: The Power of Music,” a repackaged version of their fourth studio album “The War” that was released last July.

“The Power of Music” contains 12 tracks consisting of three new songs “Power,” “Sweet Lies” and “Boomerang” and the nine songs in “The War.”

Upon the album’s release, EXO topped various music charts in Korea including Melon, Soribada, Genie and Naver.

The album also reached No. 1 on iTunes in 33 countries including the Philippines, Japan, Thailand, Finland and Turkey.

On YouTube, the music video for the title track “Power” has garnered 5.51 million views in just 16 hours after its release.

“‘Power’ is an EDM genre song with dynamic synth sounds and drum beats. The lyrics talk about how one can become stronger through music that unites everyone into one,” according to SM Entertainment.

“The War” sold more than one million copies and the challenge for fans is to replicate the feat with “The Power of Music.”

EXO starts promoting “Power” on “M Countdown” today.