Basketball Champions League: Battle for European glory

Published June 29, 2017, 9:37 PM

by manilabulletin_admin

Basketball Champions League
Basketball Champions League
Twenty one current national champions are among the 56 teams which will take part in the 2017-18 Basketball Champions League which gets under way on September 19 with the first of three qualifying rounds ahead of Regular Season tip off on October 10.

The final lineup was validated and confirmed by the Board of Basketball Champions League meeting at the House of Basketball today.

Eight national finalists and six semi-finalists will also take part of the second season of the Basketball Champions League which will feature clubs coming from 32 different European countries.

This year 32 teams will contest the Regular Season with eight qualifiers joining 24 directly qualified clubs. They will play in four groups of 8 teams each with the top four in each group going through to a home and away Round of 16 ahead of the Quarter-Finals which will determine the Final Four.

Basketball Champions League CEO Patrick Comninos said the 2017-18 lineup is evidence that the competition is strengthening and growing based on all measures. It remains true to its goal of delivering a competitive European competition which reflects basketball right across the continent and is open to all clubs which qualify on merit through their domestic league performances.

“The first season of the competition was an outstanding success and the strength of this year’s field suggests that it will get even tougher on the court and even more fascinating for hundreds of thousands of fans across Europe who follow at arenas, through great TV coverage and via social media where we have built over 600,000 Facebook followers in a single season,” he said.

An initial draw sorting the Qualification Rounds and the Regular Season phase will take place at the House of Basketball on Tuesday 11 July. The ceremony can be followed live on from 14.00 CET.